Pinterest: Making Everyone Crafty since 2010

If you’re anything like me, then you spend a TON of time browsing Pinterest, repinning yummy recipes and adorable crafts, but you never ACTUALLY do those things you obsess over. Well, I’ve begun to put a stop to the madness. Over the weekend, I was looking for something different to do on my days off of work. Of course, I went straight to my Pinterest app and began looking through my pins. Then suddenly it came to me….

Image

I have never been a huge fan of jean shorts. I always thought they were too trendy, too common, and too short…or shorter than I prefer (as opposed to my beloved J. Crew Shorts found at the outlet…).

Well, I recently figured out that I thought all of these negative things because I hadn’t found some “jorts” that I actually liked. Since I am a girl who is usually more drawn to tailored clothing, I seem to completely turn away from any cut-offs or overly-distressed jean shorts. 

With this mindset, and my obsession with Pinterest, I decided to change my opinion of the trend. After finding the perfect tutorial (here), and deciding on a pair of Joe’s Jeans that I’ve had for 2 years (I bought them half-off!), I was ready to cut these suckers.Since the Joe’s were already a good dark wash with a slightly distressed finish, I knew they would make amazing shorts. And, because of the higher waist and bootcut of the silhouette, I hadn’t worn them as much as I wish I had. All good reasons to make more use out of them!  

Before….

Image

I have to admit, I was pretty nervous about doing the actual cutting. As my stepmom watched over me to make sure I was cutting straight (I’m not the best at doing that), I created some of the best jean shorts I have ever seen, if I do say so myself.

Here are some of the steps….

Image

First leg down…PHEW!

Image

I had a little visitor…George wanted to help!

Image

And VOILA! The perfect jorts for almost no money!

I had a lot of fun doing my first Pinterest-inspired project. I’m hoping that this first experience will create a lot more in the near future. So, stay tuned and….

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

